Fan Forum
Remember Me?
Register

Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Old 02-13-2013, 09:52 PM
Addicted Fan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayerfan714 (View Post)
Yes, exactly. It was a scene that definitely rubbed a lot of people the wrong way.

Noah was 100% wrong to say Travis sounded like a seal, but it was like when Bay started dating Emmett and Melody was giving her crap for it. They are trying. It's so difficult to learn a new language and I don't know, if I were Noah, I'd probably feel like why even bother?

Like you said, it is great to have a sense of self and community, and though I'm not an expert in the Deaf community, I know community is a huge theme for them, and that's great. But like you I felt a very weird vibe coming from Melody's discussion, and one that I didn't love. It just....yeah.
Yeah, I get the whole deaf pride thing but both hearing/deaf are ignorant. I'm sorry to say this but Melody is a bigot. She's VERY narrow minded. That's where Emmett got his anti hearing antics. It's good to know they're rubbing off him but Melody and the feel of that conversation, it left a bad taste in my mouth.
Old 02-14-2013, 10:31 AM
Fan Forum Hero

After rewatching that scene I kinda blame Travis more...turning the music up was insulting and Noah was right when he referred to the party as "Bay's party" ..it wasn't a "deaf party"
Old 02-14-2013, 03:32 PM
Moderator Support Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrhmLz (View Post)