Fan Forum
Remember Me?
Register

New Forum Poll   |     Fall TV Shows   |     Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Tags Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2011, 06:37 PM
Fan Forum Star

I bet it will. And, someday, I'll know what it does.
Old 06-02-2011, 03:19 AM
Fan Forum Star

Yeah I am kind of tech savvy but some things are just so complex it's like they have been designed for engineers to use, but the kids all figure out how to use them.
Emily
Old 06-02-2011, 06:19 PM
Fan Forum Star

I'm not really tech savvy at all. By a fluke, we had a computer in the house around the time I started to write, so I learned how to type early on... but that's about it.

Quote:
DNA computer 'calculates square roots'

Researchers have shown off a "DNA computer" of unprecedented complexity, which can calculate square roots.

DNA computing uses chemical reactions to solve problems in which a number of DNA strands act as "bits".

The work, reported in Science, required 130 strands of DNA to work in a cascade of programmed chemical changes.

The approach is not designed to rival traditional electronics, but rather to allow computing to occur in biological contexts, perhaps even in the body.

DNA computing was first proposed by Leonard Adelman in 1994, to solve what is known as the "travelling salesman problem" - determining the shortest path that joins a number of geographically separated locations.

Since then, a wide array of approaches has aimed to make use of the properties that make DNA attractive for computing: it can be made to order and its interactions with itself are well-studied and reliable.

In 2006, Erik Winfree of the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) and his colleagues published an article in Science a framework making use of one of these approaches, known as strand displacement.

Stretches of DNA made of just one strand (rather than the two joined strands that form the well-known double helix) were used as anchor points for other single strands.