View Single Post
Old 02-09-2014, 11:40 PM
Gio Gio
Elite Fan

Quote:
Sarah Rafferty: Fitness “Suits” Her
By Gina Roberts-Grey
gen 21, 2013

Don’t tell Sarah Rafferty, 40, one of the stars of USA Network’s hit drama Suits and mom to two daughters, ages 5 and 2, that there’s no time to exercise during the day. The busy wife, mom and actor sees the entire world as her gym. And uses it in all sorts of ways to stay fit and looking great in her role as the confident and witty paralegal Donna on Suits.

Here’s a look at how Rafferty stays looking – and feeling – great.

Diets don’t fit in

Rafferty acknowledges that trying to stay fit and healthy is one of her top priorities. “Who isn’t trying to be healthy and fit? But I think it’s also important to find some balance and enjoy the better things in life, too,” she says.

That means no deprivation diets. “I don’t think it’s good to totally deprive yourself. And I’m not good at fasting or anything like that; I always get too cranky and exhausted. And having two kids means being exhausted during the day isn’t an option.”

Instead, Rafferty relies on moderation and whole foods to maintain her svelte figure. “I feel better when I eat healthy foods so I stay away from a lot of processed stuff. Sure I’ll eat a piece of cake at the holidays or a birthday, but I don’t have to resist going to McDonalds because that food doesn’t make me feel good,” she says.

But that doesn’t mean she doesn’t indulge in a little junk food now and then. She just opts for healthy junk. “I make crispy kale chips when I have a craving for something fried or salty. I still give in to the craving for junk food, but I make good junk choices.”

Stocking up on soup