Fan Forum
Remember Me?
Register

  New Forum Poll   |     Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Closed Thread   Post New Thread
 
Forum Affiliates Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2009, 04:45 PM
  #1
Master Fan

 
n e r b l e's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 14,627
General PC Questions (if it's computer stuff we can help) InfoCenter thread #4

General PC / Internet / Misc FAQs

Where can I get some cool fonts?
Download fonts | dafont.com
Acidfonts
Fontalicious
pizzadude
wanted fonts
mouser fonts
abstract fonts
FontEmpire
1001FreeFonts
Font Freak
Font File
Larabie Fonts
AcidCool

How do I install a font?
Go to the Windows Fonts folder. Start >> Settings >> control panel >> fonts
File >> Install new font
Browse for the font you want to install, click ok. If you need more help, check the Font Find thread

The font in my Internet Explorer is too big/small! How do I change it?
Go to View --> Text size --> and select a size (medium is recommended).

Know any HTML help sites?
Lissa Explains
Web Monkey
HTML Help
HTML Goodies
HTML Center
World Wide Web Consortium

Other Web Language sites?
Spoono
Depiction.net
Good Tutorials
PHP Buddy
PHP Princess

Greymatter tutorials?:
Jennys Page

What about Image Tutorial Sites?
Tutorial Outpost
Depiction.net
Good Tutorials
Spoono

Also visit the FanArt Board.

It won't save as a .gif/.jpg./other How do I fix it?
First off if you're using AOL trying closing that down and try to use Internet Explorer and save the picture. If you were already using Internet Explorer or if it didn't work try going up to Tools on the toolbar >> Internet Options and then try to delete your temporary internet files. It should then be able to save it as the desired file type. You can also try having someone e-mail the picture file to you. You can also try this but be aware it doesn't always work on all computers. Try right clicking on the picture you want to save and then select "E-mail picture as...". Then a little screen will pop up titled "Sending Pictures Via E-mail" and it'll ask you if you want to make the picture smaller or keep the original size. Select the one to keep the original size and then click ok. Then another screen will pop up asking you to select a profile. Just select Outlook even if you don't use Outlook regularly. Then an outlook window for an e-mail will pop up with the whole "To..., From..., Cc..." and all that good stuff. Hopefully you'll see that under the Attachment section there's a tile of the picture file you want to save. You should be able to right click the picture tile and save it as the desired file type. Beware though that it doesn't work on all computers.
Thanks to HamiltonsEyes

How to run Windows in safe mode
Restart you computer. As the computer restarts, press the key F8. A menu appears, use the arrow keys to select the option Safe Mode.
To return to the normal mode, restart the computer.
For more check this link

Where can I find some free servers?
Geocities
Angelfire
Tripod
Web1000
Or search FreeWebSpace.net for more

How about paid ones?
Brinkster
Sphosting
Valuable Host
Your-Site
A plus hosting
Dot Easy
Hostek
Net Firms
Host Rocket
Go Daddy
404 Labs

Free Url Redirection?
CJB.net
HotRedirect

Where can I host large files for free?
Diino
MediaMax
MegaUpload

Where can I host images for free?
Imageshack
Photobucket

Where can I download antivirus or antispyware programs?
McAfee
AVG
Kaspersky
Norton
AdAware
Spybot

Many ISPs offer free anti-virus/spyware programs also. Earthlink and Road Runner do, if in doubt call yours.

What programs can I use to edit images?
Gimp
Paint Shop Pro (also has anim program)
Photoshop (also has anim program)

Also visit the Fan Art Board.

When I go to make a screencap all it gives me is a black image. What do I do?
Turn your video hardware accleration to full. Right click on desktop, go to Properties in grey menu. Go to the Settings tab. Click on Advanced button. Click on the Troubleshoot tab. Slide the bar all the way to the right and hit OK.

How do I change the spacing between lines when typing in Word?
All you have to do when you have a paragraph that is spaced is highlight the whole paragraph and go to format >> paragraph and then where it says "line spacing" change it to single (or which ever spacing you like)
Thanks to OrlandoNYC for this

Where can I find an internet archive?
Archive.org

What are some translation sites?
FreeTranslation
Babel Fish (AltaVista)[/QUOTE]

Where do I get some cool ascii text?:
@Google
AsciiTable

Greymatter tutorials?:
Jennys Page

I'm using Paint, how do I resize the image to make wallpapers or larger images?
Take the bottom right sizing handle (the little black box) and drag it to the size you want. You can see the dimensions in the bottom right corner of the Paint screen.
Thanks to Kreviazuk (Dani) for that..

<Note: This thread should be restarted by an Info Center Moderator. Thanks>
n e r b l e is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 06:16 PM
  #2
Fan Forum Hero

 
lancer1993's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 69,662
Thanks for the new thread.

Dumb Question - Is there an easier way to combine RAR files in Windows? On Mac you use Stuffit, double click the first RAR part and it combines them in one action. Window you have to first DL WinRAR as XP doesn't come with it. Run the program, select all the parts, tell WinRAR what you want to do. It's never ending...
lancer1993 is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 06:56 PM
  #3
Elite Fan
 
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,323
Thanks for starting the new thread!

Craig, did you utilize the extract all option?
4N6 DNA is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 07:24 PM
  #4
Fan Forum Hero

 
lancer1993's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 69,662
Quote:
Craig, did you utilize the extract all option?
Not sure, how does that work?

Why can't it be like the Mac, one click no fuss!
lancer1993 is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 07:24 PM
  #5
Passionate Fan

 
RedRooster's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,240
If you set WinRar or 7Zip has your default compressing/uncompressing software, it shouldn't be too hard. Either way, you should have the Extract All option when you right click the file.
RedRooster is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 09:21 PM
  #6
Fan Forum Hero

 
-Kelly-'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 88,727
Thanks for the new thread

I got my computer back today but I haven't set it up yet I'll wait until my mum moves her laptop first
$88 dollars to fix it
__________________
★ Delta Goodrem ★
Icon Credit - Cheali
-Kelly- is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 09:41 PM
  #7
Fan Forum Hero

 
lancer1993's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 69,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedRooster (View Post)
If you set WinRar or 7Zip has your default compressing/uncompressing software, it shouldn't be too hard. Either way, you should have the Extract All option when you right click the file.
Okay that's easy, still not as easy as the double click with a Mac but not as hard as going into the program with all the options.

Thanks.

Good news about you PC Kelly.

Sunday week we have a fundermental problem, the power will be out for a short time because of work in the area. So I have to make sure thing are turned off before 7:30am. Times like this I wish I had a laptop
lancer1993 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 07:24 PM
  #8
Fan Forum Hero

 
-Kelly-'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 88,727
Argh, I wish.

I had a pop up at my home page and it looks like they didn't fix it

ETA: I just rang them and he told me to download ad adware, why didn't they do it

ETA again: ETA: I'm using this one
Ad-Aware Anniversary Edition Free Program

It came up with 8 things but is there a better program that I can also use? thanks

Can anyone please tell me what theses are



__________________
★ Delta Goodrem ★
Icon Credit - Cheali

Last edited by -Kelly-; 07-17-2009 at 09:53 PM
-Kelly- is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 11:24 PM
  #9
Master Fan

 
n e r b l e's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 14,627
Both appear to be spyware. I'm getting hte impression you didn't get a good job done on your pc...
n e r b l e is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 11:45 PM
  #10
Fan Forum Hero

 
-Kelly-'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 88,727
Thanks

I was going to delete it but I got this message, should I delete it?


Yeah, I won't be going back to the shop again

Ok, I've deleted "save" but the Mirar is still there because I'm really unsure what to do
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...mps/mirar2.jpg

ETA again:

I don't understand why I should d/l this when I don't need the program to get rid of it
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...mps/mirar3.jpg
__________________
★ Delta Goodrem ★
Icon Credit - Cheali

Last edited by -Kelly-; 07-18-2009 at 12:58 AM
-Kelly- is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 10:54 AM
  #11
Passionate Fan

 
RedRooster's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,240
Because that's what spywares do, ask you to install more crap to get rid of them

Along with Adware you might want to get Spybot Search and Destroy. Pretty much the best combo you can have to scan and delete spywares. Makes sure both of them have updated definitions before scanning. One good way to scan is in Safe Mode since less background processes are loaded. But make sure you do the updating first before switching to Safe Mode.

If you don't know how to get in safe mode, check it here.
RedRooster is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 03:22 PM
  #12
Fan Forum Hero

 
lancer1993's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 69,662
I got Spybot after some problems and it seems to be going good, it's annoying how it asks any time you change anything, but one click is way better than spyware ending up on the PC.

I use my Mac for 99% of my web surfing and only PC (with FireFox) when I'm uploading something that might take a while and I don't want to tie up the Mac.
lancer1993 is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 08:03 PM
  #13
Fan Forum Hero

 
-Kelly-'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 88,727
RedRooster thankyou, thankyou, thankyou

I d/l the spybot search & destory and it picked up the Mirar and a few more, I'm just waiting for it to finish scanning

ETA: A few more is gone but Mirar is still there.....thanks for the link for the safemode
__________________
★ Delta Goodrem ★
Icon Credit - Cheali

Last edited by -Kelly-; 07-18-2009 at 08:16 PM
-Kelly- is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 08:29 AM
  #14
Passionate Fan

 
RedRooster's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,240
Seems like it's a little nasty one then. Might be a little more complicated to remove it.

After looking it up on google, I didn't find any automatic removal tools. There's some instructions on removing manually, hopefully they aren't too complicated for you. If you have any questions about them, you can always repost here.

Remove Mirar (Removal Instructions) | 411 on Spyware

Try them in Safe Mode too.
RedRooster is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 09:02 PM
  #15
Fan Forum Hero

 
-Kelly-'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 88,727
Yeah, it sounds too hard

I'm not good at most computer stuff like safe mode stuff so today I took my computer to a computer shop that my mum work's uses and trusts.
They're going to check everything for me, I typed my problems on a sheet so they know what's going on with "Mirar"

I'm using my mum's laptop now, even her laptop is slow I did email her while I didn't know I had spywares, trojans, ad aware sigh: I think she's got something
Her mouse runs on it's own, the Arrow

Thanks for the links
__________________
★ Delta Goodrem ★
Icon Credit - Cheali
-Kelly- is offline  
Fan Forum  |  Contact Us  |  Fan Forum on Twitter  |  Fan Forum on Facebook  |  Archive  |  Top

Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000-2022.

Copyright © 1998-2022, Fan Forum.


TEST