Fan Forum
Remember Me?
Register

New Forum Poll   |     Fall TV Shows   |     Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Tags Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2014, 02:07 AM
Loyal Fan

There is no excuse to take a human life when yours isn't in any danger. You have burglary on the one hand, murder on the other one. Heck even if she had wrecked his home, still the crime of murdering is far more severe. I am a lawyer, but I am not familiar with the justice system in US. In my country , considering guns are prohibited, there would be no chance for the old man to get away with it.
Old 07-27-2014, 02:32 PM
Fan Forum Hero

Things are very different here certainly. May be not for the better.
Old 07-27-2014, 06:42 PM
Fan Forum Star

He could still be charged with murder, but the way the police is talking about it in that article, specifically the part where they say "should you charge someone based on a series of split-second decisions made when he'd just been the victim of a crime," leads me to believe he won't be.

And that do feels that tells you something about how seriously gun violence is taken.

There's obviously no denying that he was the victim of what appears to have been a violent crime.

Mind you, he still managed to recover quickly enough to pursue them and kill one of them, so he made a remarkably quick recovery.

So it's not a matter of blaming the victim here. He was the victim of a crime.

But does that mean he's then free to commit one of his own? And is that what happened here?

I don't know.

I'm just hoping the death will be taken as seriously as the home invasion.
Old 07-30-2014, 05:31 PM
Fan Forum Star

Quote:
Domestic abuse victims to testify in support of new gun control law

Congressional hearing is the first on gun violence since post-Newtown gun control measures failed to pass