Fan Forum
Remember Me?
Register

Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Old 02-04-2005, 09:49 PM
New Fan

It was always my understanding that the category an actor/actress was nominated in depended on billing...above the title was leading, and below was supporting. However, it seems the powers that be have decided that this ain't necessarily so, since Laura Linney was billed above the title. My guess would be that the studio decided that she had a great chance of winning in the supporting category, but faced some very stiff competition in the lead slot. Much of these awards is political, and there is a great deal of jockeying and campaigning and money spent by the studios and actors courting the academy. I heard, although I have no first hand knowledge, that Sharon Stone once sent every member of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (the body that awards the Golden Globes) a very expensive watch. The Academy Awards mean big money to the studios, although Robert Duval was once asked how his life had changed since he received his academy award, and his answer was that he got better treatment at airports now.

Last edited by Marni; 02-05-2005 at 10:21 AM
Old 02-05-2005, 02:49 PM
Elite Fan

Oh,thanks for the insight into that process,Marni. Sounds Machivellian(and expensive for the poor campaigning actor!)...but Robert Duvall deserves better treatment at airports. He's a treat to watch,too. (The Great Santini" is one of my favorites.
Old 02-06-2005, 08:16 PM
Loyal Fan

Just wanted to say I finally saw Kinsey today and really liked it. A very well done movie and of course Bill was wonderful. Liam Neeson and Laura Linney were wonderful.
Old 02-07-2005, 04:26 AM
Pav
Elite Fan

The release date for my country has not been announced yet.

Nice to meet you, Marni!

Last edited by Pav; 02-09-2005 at 12:27 AM
Old 02-08-2005, 07:04 PM
Fan Forum Hero

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ms Carolyn