Register

Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Closed Thread   Post New Thread

Forum Affiliates Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2004, 05:11 AM
Extreme Fan

PuReDrEaMeR05

My thoughts on your question:
If often see people mistaking 'blending' for 'putting pictures next to eachother and leaving the border of the pictures there'. I know it's difficult at first, ... but even I figured it out!

I've been making fanart for a couple of years now and it took me a while to figure it out too. Actually, there's not really anything to figure out, but it just seems that way.
Reading your post, it looks like you're on your way to get there.

Blending is done with the eraser tool. At least I do it like that, (you can also use the close brush, but I would recommend eraser). You just make sure the pictures are all in a layer and start errasing the stuff you don't want on it.

To make the images actually 'flow' into eachother ... it's a matter of placing them right + good erasing.

placing them right:
shuffle the layers around. untill you got them where you want.
- do not put them too far away from eachother! there will just be this huge gap, it will look wrong.
- you may want to look at the colors of the pictures. blending with a darker background in your picture can make it easier.

good erasing:
- your eraser should have the normal 'round' form (don't use the square'd thing ... it just makes it more difficult)
- I always set the hardness of the eraser on 0.
- let's say you're blending two pictures of a face ... then you can erase the background of ONE of the pictures (obviously the one that's above the other) and leave the other one normal.
- GOOD ERASING should be done carefully. You have to make sure you don't erase anything that you still want (like a part of a face, it's ugly!) but there really shouldn't be too much crap left either. Try to go close enough to the face, there shouldn't be weird borders around!

Also, and this is just a general thought about the pictures and such