Fan Forum
Remember Me?
Register

Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Reply   Post New Thread

Forum Affiliates Tags Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2014, 05:53 PM
Ultimate Fan

Most of what I knew about Mary prior to the show was stuff I learnt at uni (I'm a French student of English, and it covers both the English language and the History and culture of English-speaking countries) about the Protestant/Catholic and English/Scottish rivalry.
It's funny that I never knew prior to uni that she had been Queen of our country at some point. I guess it's because in the grand scheme of things, François II's reign wasn't the most memorable of all. We all know about Charles X's reign (Francis's brother) since it's during that time that he and Catherine de Médicis (French spelling) got really bloody hands with the whole St. Bartholomew's Day massacre thing.

I love you because you're my best friend
J&M
and I want to grow old with you.
LostInTheSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 08:36 PM
Moderator Manager

Thanks for getting this thread started, Josie.

It would be great to see what happened in history vs. what the show is showing us as comparison.

Let's go on a clumsy cute bestie trip!
Already miss our days in Cloud Planet.

L i N d $ @ y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 08:40 PM
Fan Forum Star

I can think of a few things that don't quite make sense to me, in regards to this storyline and history.

I mean in the pilot, Phillip married Elizabeth (don't know exactly why they did it so soon), but before he married Elizabeth he was marred to Mary Tudor who seems to be still alive on the show (or more precise is dying). Although they may never be married

I also I don't quite understand England's desire for Mary T. wanting Mary QOS dead. Considering I thought they would somewhat be allies. Although I suppose it is possible Elizabeth is pulling the strings despite Mary's rule

warangel88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 09:05 PM
Loyal Fan