Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Closed Thread   Post New Thread

Forum Affiliates Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2017, 11:06 AM
Fan Forum Hero

Moderator of ...
Movies

Hey everyone!

I've been on FanForum for years, but took a break and this is my first time on The Borgias board. I absolutely love the show, here's some of my thoughts:

It was a great follow-up to The Tudors without being a second-rate copy of it (and, unlike The Tudors, never became boring)

The acting of the main cast was SUBLIME (Jeremy Irons' voice is so appropriately creepy & commanding)

David Oakes stole every scene he was in throughout Season 2 and I think Neil Jordan killed Juan way too soon (I always felt his syphillis disease explained a LOT about his cruel behavior towards others and that secret should have been discovered by his family, so they could begin to understand why he took such a turn for the worse)

Joanne Whalley was criminally underused throughout the show, I preferred her to Lotte Verbeek but then again I wasn't a fan of the whole mistress subplot

And that leads me to the most gripping aspect of The Borgias and probably the best direction the show could have gone in - Cesare and Lucrezia

Because WOW!!! The chemistry between Francois and Holly was on fire from their very first scene together and I would have been furious had Neil Jordan cowardly strayed away from the forbidden lovers story for them.

It was like watching Heathcliff and Cathy in a Shakespearean backdrop. They just screamed soulmates. You could tell that Francois and Holly were deliberately playing the dynamic as though Cesare and Lucrezia were destined for each other, and that love (in their case) was not bound by the formality of marriage.