Remember Me?
Register

Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Reply   Post New Thread

Forum Affiliates Tags Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2003, 08:48 AM
Addicted Fan

Mystery books

I thought there was a thread on this, but I can't find it. I'm sure a mod will correct me if I'm wrong!

I'm just getting into mysteries. Never liked them - I thought the Sherlock Holmes mysteries were pathetically obvious, and kind of blew off the whole genre. Plus, my parents read them, so [img]smilies/tongue.gif[/img]. However, I like historical novels and I started reading Barbara Hambly's "Benjamin January" series, then I read {The Beekeeper's Apprentice[/i] by Laurie King, and now I'm reading the "Lovejoy" books by Jonathon Gash. Has anyone else read those? I don't know how many there are, but I know there are at least 12 and I only have about 5 of them.

Oh, and I also liked "The Bookman's Wake" and "Booked to Die" by ... Dunning? Is that the name?

[ 10-14-2003: Message edited Crossbow ]
Crossbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 02:01 PM
Passionate Fan

[img]smilies/wave.gif[/img]Hi Crossbow

Whenever there is a mystery thread on this board it seems to always fade off into oblivion. Personally, I find that rather odd because I always thought mystery/suspense/thriller was one of the most popular genres out there.

I read a lot of contemporary mystery. Women sleuths/police procedrals are my favourite...although I have a soft spot for romantic suspense too. I don't think I've read any historical mystery before but I'm willing to give it a try.
Old 10-15-2003, 02:38 PM
Addicted Fan

Mystery IS a really popular genre, but I think it's more popular with older people, and FanForum is mostly younger people. My parents are both heavy into it, but they didn't start reading it until they were in their 50's. I'm 36 and only just getting into it - and I'm even friends with 2 mystery writers and still never read it.
Old 10-15-2003, 06:54 PM
Part-Time Fan