Fan Forum
Remember Me?
Register

Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Old 11-16-2004, 05:24 AM
Addicted Fan

BNFs

So, apparently in every fanfiction fandom there is someone (or maybe multiple someones) called a BNF. "Big Name Ficwriter" is how it was de-acronymned to me, and I'm wondering what is up with that. LOL. Anyone here care to shed some light on the whole BNF mystery?
Old 11-16-2004, 09:18 AM
Master Fan

Huh. Very interesting! I had no idea what a BNF was until I clicked on the thread, but as soon as I saw the explanation my mind immediately went 'Kerching! Cassie Claire for Harry Potter'. Will be much interested to hear about other fandoms, and whether other people share my opinion about CC being BNF for HP.

fics | vids | stupid little life
Old 11-16-2004, 01:36 PM
Master Fan

I believe that BNF means Big Name Fan and they write fanfics or create fanart.

I am new to fandom as a whole but apparently, they are the fans whose work is rec'd by every and anyone, whose LJ is friended by each and everybody and who's pretty much known by everyone in the fandom.
The Lord is my shepherd.
Old 11-16-2004, 04:57 PM
Addicted Fan

It's also used to describe fans who are considered such "experts" that no one is allowed to disagree with them.
Old 11-16-2004, 07:56 PM
Master Fan

Quote:
Originally posted by Crossbow
It's also used to describe fans who are considered such "experts" that no one is allowed to disagree with them.
That's a bit scary.

Old 11-17-2004, 02:53 AM
Dedicated Fan

Mm. That is freaky. BNF's tend to be a bit elitist as well.

Well, I know I don't know you and you're probably not what you seem
Aw, but I'd sure like to find out
So why don't you climb down off that movie screen?

Dan Fan No. 95
Spike's Kitten No. 95
Old 11-17-2004, 07:29 AM
Addicted Fan

Whee! Now I am real scared, because I don't think it was a compliment now. LOL. (Apparently I am a BNF. Sigh.)
Old 11-17-2004, 07:41 AM
Master Fan

Quote:
Originally posted by Ashleigh