Remember Me?
Register

Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Reply   Post New Thread

Forum Affiliates Tags Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2012, 09:30 AM
Loyal Fan

Just some thoughts I'd like to add:

So, I graduated from a regular Canadian high school and I can safely say that most of my fellow graduates did end up going to university (I believe the number was 80%) so I don't think Degrassi is really skewing the numbers all that much. Something that does irk me a little is the lack of students going to college. Here, there's university and then there's college, and honestly it makes a lot of sense for Jake to go to college (is that what you guys mean by vocational school?). I had a bunch of close friends who either went to college because they wanted less theoretical degrees, their marks just weren't enough, they wanted a job faster...etc. I dunno, it seems weird that such a popular choice would be ignored completely. Especially since Toronto has the best colleges in Ontario.

As for going to American schools, I think at least ten of the people I graduated with got full rides or partial scholarships for athletics in American schools. However, I don't know of anyone that went to an American school otherwise...it does cost way too much. The only one that came close was actually in a similar situation to Alli. My good friend (back then) got acceptance in grade 11 to Yale, and she had a few weeks where she was thinking about it but she ultimately wanted to finish high school with her friends and she ended up at a local university after graduation. Ironically, she ended up losing all of her friends and had the worst year of her life, but that's beside the point.

I definitely do hope we keep seeing the Bhandaris (and maybe get to see Sav again?) because they've just become way too awesome to watch to just go away now.