Remember Me?
Register

Request a Forum   |     View New Forums

Reply   Post New Thread

Forum Affiliates Tags Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2016, 06:14 AM
New Fan

Getting into Sci-fi/Fantasy

Hello everyone. I'm new here, this will be my first thread. I wanted to start a nice discussion while doing some introduction as well. Here it goes...

I'm an avid fan of Fantasy and Science Fiction. Funny thing is that I didn't start by reading it, I started by watching it. Scii-fi I both read and watched pretty much at the same time (mostly Star Trek). For Fantasy, It was purely watching it, and it started earlier than the sci-fi. My mother tells me that I drove her nuts with watching Wizard of Oz (1939) over and over and over on tape. Mary Poppins also (I guess that's semi-fantasy) I graduated to I Dream of Jeanie and Bewitched when they began to re-run that on Nick-at-nite. Anything with magic and dragons and...well just about anything fantasy, drew my attention. But, it was all just fluff until I watched the Hallmark production of Merlin and fell in love with epic fantasy, then came 10th Kingdom, and then came LoTR. I will admit, I watched the movies before I ever read the books. Now, I love it all. Not much for horror in any form. But, it if is epic fantasy, high fantasy, urban fantasy, YA fantasy, I'm a fan.

What about you? How did you learn to love Fantasy and/or Sci-Fi. Did you start with books, or was it watching it on a screen? Did you get interested playing games like MtG or D&D? What about it attracted your attention early on?
DanPeyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 06:45 AM
Fan Forum Legend

Moderator of ...
The Witcher

nice thread idea Thanks for starting it!

Personally, I loved sci/fi ever since I can remember. My brother is 15 yrs older than me and introduced me to it at a very young age, I think it was Star Trek at first.