View Single Post
Old 04-11-2016, 01:30 PM
SouthernSweetieTX
Master Fan

In America we have world history, in high school for one year. Interestingly enough, I didn't have to take world geography as I was an honor student. I did take world geography in college though. That was a long time ago and I've slept since then.

Ireland is on my must see list. I've been to London, that's the only city in the UK I've been too. Unless you count Dover, but that was just the train station.
I adore London! I still remember the feeling I had when I stepped off the train. It was something almost magical. I've been threatening to move to London for over 20 years. It was by far my favorite city I've visited in Europe. I was only there for a few days, but it was enough to steal my heart. I loved the tubes. The underground is truly exceptional. The metro in Paris was awful. I could have spent days in the British museum!

My husband was stationed in Berlin in the late 80's. His job was to guard the wall, and he was there when it came down. His favorite favorite country is Germany. I agree with him; it's a beautiful country and the sweetest people, but it is way too cold for me.

I love the space of Texas. I don't even have to look across the pond to appreciate it. One look at NYC and I'm so grateful for our sprawling suburbs.

There is certainly history in Texas, something we spend a lot of time learning in school. Texas is unique as we are the only state that was once a republic. We aren't Midwest, we aren't truly Southern; we really are like our own country.

There is far more US history on the east coast, but obviously nothing that can touch what is in Europe. I love the castles, museums, churches, the cobblestone streets. It was so easy to drive everywhere. We rented a car and drove through most all the countries we visited. We only took a train a few times.