View Single Post
Old 08-06-2008, 06:28 AM
razorblade456
New Fan

Brain Picking...moved

Hello everyone!

This was originally posted in the Twilight fan area, but informered it was better fitted here.

I'm a newbie and I stumbled on this site while researching for a novel I will be working on inspired by the Twilight series. I appreciated the way vampires were portrayed in the novels and I also became fascinated by the idea of newborns and their adjustment period. So here is the book idea:

A young woman is changed to a vampire after a mugging that nearly kills her. The coven she is born into (I'm thinking of making the coven small...probably a couple and another male, the main character supposing to be the mate to the other male) only feed on the scum of the earth (muggers, thieves, rapists, etc.) They live on the outskirts of a major city (I'm thinking Portland, b/c I liked the vampire need for overcast.)

Despite her "food" being only lowlifes, she is torn from killing humans and her intense desire to feed. After a disturbing episode with her "food" she escapes from her coven to feed on lesser animals. While searching and pondering, she comes across a small town where a high school age boy is arguing with his mother that works nights. She immediately becomes fascinated with the boy, but afraid that she might eat/ hurt him she observes from afar. Through the days of observing, the boy runs off into the nearby forest area only to be faced with a wild animal. On reflex she saves the boy from the animal, but instead of the boy becoming afraid of her, he too is enthralled by her.

Later her coven comes to look for her, to discover the human boy that knows their secret and give the most difficult choice for any vampire in love with a human: kill him or turn him.